Driving on Suspended License in Napa

877.366.9440

In the state of California, there are a number of things that can result in the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges. If you are caught driving on a suspended/revoked license, especially if the suspension is due to a drunk-driving charge, you most likely will be arrested immediately. If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license or driving on a suspended license while intoxicated, it is important that you contact a Napa criminal defense attorney as possible. The laws in California are complex and the failure to obey those laws can result in severe penalties being imposed.

Senate Bill 1758

The Senate Bill 1758 provides for law enforcement to impound any vehicle for 30 days if you are caught driving on a suspended license or revoked license. In addition, drivers who are unable to provide law enforcement with a valid driver's license upon request are also subject to a 30-day vehicle impoundment. This Senate Bill also stipulates that it is a misdemeanor offense for anyone to knowingly let an unlicensed person drive their vehicle. Doing so can result in a fine of up to $300.

California Vehicle Code 14607.6

The California Vehicle Code 14607.6 states that:

“a motor vehicle is subject to forfeiture as a nuisance if it is driven on a highway in this state by a driver with a suspended or revoked license, or by an unlicensed driver, who is a registered owner of the vehicle and has a previous misdemeanor conviction for a violation of subdivision (a) of section 12500 or section 14601, 14601.1, 14601.2, 14601.3, 14601.4, or 14601.5.”

This means that if you are caught driving on a suspended license, revoked license, or do not have a license and were previously convicted of a misdemeanor as stated, then the state of California may take your vehicle away from you permanently and sell it.

Drunk Driving on a Suspended License Penalties

A first offense may result in:

  • Jail time of 10 days up to 6 months in a county or city jail
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Fines of anywhere between $300 and $1,000.  Habitual offenders may be subject to enhanced fines and penalties.

 A second offense within a 5 year period may result in:

  • Jail time of 30 days up to 1 year in a county jail
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Fines of anywhere between $500 and $2,000.  Habitual offenders may be subject to enhanced fines and penalties

Get Help Now!

Because the potential penalties for driving on a suspended license are quite severe, those charged with the offense should consult with a knowledgeable Napa criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. As a leading Napa criminal defense law firm, we have the knowledge and legal skills you need to create the best possible defense.  We have handled numerous cases involving driving on a suspended license and are often able to obtain alternative sentences for clients.  Contact us today for your NAPA DUI Law Firm case consultation!

Do you have questions?

Have you been arrested for a DUI?
Do you need help?
Do you know your rights?
Click here to fill out our free case evaluation form.

Call Today

Dealing with DUI charges can be a lot to handle. You want an attorney who will treat your case as a priority and fight for your rights during this crucial time when so much is at stake. At our firm when we take on a case, your cause becomes our cause. Every single client is treated as a priority. In addition, every case is personally handled by the same attorney from beginning to end. That same attorney attends your court proceedings and DMV hearing. We also take the time to make sure you understand your case and know what to expect during the legal process right from the start. Hiring the right attorney can make all the difference in your DUI case. Please do not hesitate to call our office today for a free consultation.

Top Rated

Menu